Our Programs

As of 03/14/2016

Stormwater Permit Program History

On November 16, 1990, the United States Environmental Protection Agency (EPA) published the National Pollutant Discharge Elimination System (NPDES) stormwater discharge regulations. These NPDES regulations require permits for stormwater discharged into waters of the United States. Permit provisions require a SWMP and the use of BMP: activities, procedures, and structures to minimize or reduce pollution to the waters of the U.S.

The Harris County Flood Control District, the City of Houston, Harris County, and the Texas Department of Transportation (TxDOT) are the agencies that form the Joint Task Force (JTF) in a cooperative effort to address the EPA NPDES stormwater permit requirements. The EPA has commended the JTF for the quality of its implementation as well as the consensus, cooperation and partnership.

The JTF stormwater permit renewal was issued on February 24, 2009 by the Texas Commission on Environmental Quality under the Texas Pollutant Discharge Elimination System (TPDES) permit program. The TPDES regulations mirror the requirements of the NPDES permitting program, but allow the state of Texas to locally manage stormwater permits and adapt requirements as appropriate. The JTF began the TPDES permit renewal process once again in August 2013, however, TxDOT will no longer be a part of the JTF.

For more information on these programs, please visit the Clean Water Clear Choice.