Floodplain Administrators

Floodplain Administrators

Shared Responsibilities

The Harris County Flood Control District does "not" have sole jurisdiction over flood-related matters in Harris County. In fact, there are many other entities involved that have special interests in their particular areas of responsibility. The City of Houston, for example, is one of the local floodplain administrators for the community's participation in the National Flood Insurance Program (NFIP). The city has its own criteria for design of its drainage systems - primarily the design of storm sewers and street drainage, but also stormwater detention for these systems. Other incorporated areas are also floodplain administrators and have their own drainage design criteria for their road systems. In unincorporated areas of Harris County, the County Engineer's office is the floodplain administrator.

There are 34 floodplain administrators in the county. The Harris County Flood Control District is not one of them. To complete the jurisdiction picture, there are four county commissioners' precincts. In all, with 34 floodplain administrators reporting to separate entities of government, there are nearly 250 elected officials involved in the administration of drainage and flooding issues in the county, including each municipality's building permit program.

Floodplain Administrators

City of Baytown

Sweta Patel

City of Bellaire

Ms. Chavanne Sampson

City of Bunker Hill Village

Stephen Smith

City of Deer Park

Kathy Holcomb

City of El Lago

Bob Kosar

City of Friendswood

Patrick Donart

City of Galena Park

Tom Ehlers

City of Hedwig Village

Kevin Taylor

City of Hilshire Village

Efrain Him

City of Houston

Choyce Morrow

City of Humble

Ray Pearson

City of Hunter's Creek Village

James Stewart

City of Jacinto City

Lon Squyres

City of Jersey Village

Harry Ward, PE

City of Katy

Cindy Kuykendall

City of La Porte

Candyce Ward

City of League City

Sonia Phillips

City of Morgan's Point

Brian Schneider

City of Missouri City

Shashi Kumar

City of Nassau Bay

Mark Stelly

City of Pasadena

Mr. Robin Green

City of Pearland

Robert Upton

City of Piney Point Village

Annette Arriaga

City of Seabrook

Nick Kondejewski

City of Shoreacres

Troy Harrison

City of South Houston

Allen Munz

City of Southside Place

David Moss

City of Spring Valley

Zachary Meadows

City of Stafford

Mr. Iby Rico

City of Taylor Lake Village

Jack Fryday

City of Tomball

Nathan Dietrich

City of Waller

Mr. Gene Schmidt

City of Webster

Erich Pen

City of West University

Edward Orozco

Harris County

Darrel Hahn